Boldly Going Where My Lips Have Never Gone Before

So, I have never ever been a bold lip kind of girl. In fact the whole notion of a bold lip, especially for the day, really scared me and though I love the look of a bright lip on EVERYONE ELSE I never thought I had the right face/mouth for it. To be completely honest with you all I never even where a nude lipstick. I have naturally quite pink lips so lipstick was never something I gravitated towards, I have always been a balms girl.

IMAG0450

The lipstick that first got me treading on bold waters was MAC’S Girl About Town. A goregous purpley pink that brightens up the face and thanks to it’s blue tones makes teeth look whiter. I purchased this about a year ago and wore it once for a party (I bought it to match some shoes I had). It has incredible longevity and I got so many compliments but after wearing it once it was placed safely into my lipstick drawer and never taken out again.

Until now, for some reason this month has seen me getting some (metaphorical) balls and going the full hog with bright lips. I tend to gravitate towards purples and reds and I think this is pretty much as bold as it gets. I guess I am an all or nothing kind of gal.IMAG0446

These lipsticks are the creme de la creme of bold lips. They all have great staying power (especially the MAC and Hourglass offerings), great pigment and really make a statement.

Firstly, I would like to apologise for the strange array of angles and shots of my nose/chin. It had to be this way because apparently my camera will not focus properly on my lips unless there is the embarrassing addition of some sort of strange body part on an unflattering angle. Without further ado, enjoy!

In order of swatches:

1. Revlon Lip Butter in Lollipop

IMAG0453

2. MAC  Amplified in Girl About Town

IMAG0466

3. MAC Satin in Rebel

IMAG0472

4. Rimmel Matte Kate Moss Lipstick in 107

IMAG0455

5. L’Paige Cosmetics (from my local natural foods store) in 22

IMAG0461

6. MAC Cremesheen in Brave Red

IMAG0470

7. Hourglass Opague Rouge in Raven

IMAG0478

One thought on “Boldly Going Where My Lips Have Never Gone Before

Leave a Reply

