My Skin and My Current Skin Care Neccessities

Hi there strangers long time no see,

First of all, apologies for my long absence a variety of factors have been stopping me from blogging recently but I promise, no more, you shall be hearing from me (and maybe even seeing me) much more frequently from here on in.

This is just a little post that I am writing on my skin’s history and what products I am currently using that have really made a huge difference to the look and feel of my skin.

I have been suffering from acne for 7 years now and only this year have I been able to finally make a change to my skin and see it looking more radiant and clear than ever before. I am prone to oiliness in the t-zone, acne prone everywhere and I (up until recently) have suffered from dry patches on the parts of my face where the acne is (thanks to horrible astringent nasty products that I have used on my skin over the years I think) and I have enlarged and clogged pores on and around my nasal area. So pretty much a combination skin type.

I have seen a dermatologist about my skin who prescribed me the contraceptive pill in various hormone doses but it didn’t seem to make a change. The next option for me would be to go on Ro Accutane but I feel that it would be unnecessary as my acne is not cystic and that drug has been linked to depression and suicide, things I wish to avoid as much as possible.

So after trialling about one million chemist brands, hormonal pills and now higher end brands I think I have finally found a combination that is working.  This is a picture of my skin at the moment, I know it isn’t perfectly clear but I currently have no active pimples and any red marks on my face is scarring from previous pimples (which thankfully is fading except for that horrible red one on my right cheek).

My very tired, very naked face

My very tired, very naked face

The Products that have changed my face:

IMG_0915[1]REN is fast becoming my favourite skincare brand of all time. REN is an all natural brand that makes amazing products to target all sorts of skin issues. I am currently using their clearcalm clay 3 cleanser which is for Blemish Prone Skin. This cleanser removes all impurities, grime and oil without stripping my face or leaving it tight. It also feels really moisturising and soothing and after using it my skin feels soft and clean. I have been using it for a month now and my skin is completely changed. Swapping from an astrigent chemist brand cleanser which stripped my skin and made me produce more oil, to this beautiful cleanser has made the world of difference and my skin has honestly never felt better or looked better. I also use the mask version of this cleanser once a week to keep blemishes at bay and go deeper into my pores and I find it excellent on my clogged pores and to get rid of any small blackheads or the soothe the occassional pimple or two. The final REN product that I have been using is the REN AHA Resurfacing Concentrate. This is a chemical exfoliant, similar to the Alpha H liquid gold, made of four natural acids, and a few other natural ingredients, I use this every second night before moisturising and it just gets rid of any old skin and I wake up with genuinely glowing skin. I honestly never thought skin could glow and this product has proved me wrong. These REN products are the first I have tried and I have been so impressed with all of them, they will definitely not be the last three I try.

Next up is the KEIHL’S Midnight Recovery Concentrate, which is an elixir of botanicals and oils which is meant to hydrate, repair and soothe the skin. I apply three drops of this every second night, or when my skin needs a bit of a boost, and it adds hydration and seems to renew and smooth my skin. The thing I have learnt is the even if your skin is oily or blemish prone, it can still be dehydrated. By using hydrating products I have really changed the texture of my skin and made it smoother and pretty much eradicated those icky rough patches.

The next hydrating product I use is the Burt’s Bees Hydration Mask. Which I use once a week after my REN mask, in a facial treatment, this works on the same principal as the recovery concentrate and seems to make my skin look plumper and more healthy after use. All of the products mentioned above, have been from natural brands, one of the things that I think has made a huge difference as they don’t strip or fill my skin with chemical nasties.

The last product that I use at night is the Malin and Goetz acne treatment (something that I haven’t had to apply for a little while) which I use to spot treat blemishes. It is a sulphur acne treatment which is antibacterial and dries out blemishes overnight to get rid of them so quickly. It is the most effective acne treatment which I have used and though you do look silly at the beginning with white dots all over your face with good skin care this will only make a rare appearance, besides, who cares what you look like while you’re sleeping.

Of a morning I simply cleanse, and then apply the Estee Lauder Idealist Even Skin Illuminator. This is really making a difference to reducing the appearance of my pores and helping to fade any dark marks i have left over after pimples. Not only that but it’s illuminating properties look incredible under just moisturiser or under any foundation and it is a sure fire way to get complements on your skin. I only have a sample size, and the full size is 115 dollars for 30mL, which would be totally worth it except that I have qualms about using Estee Lauder products as their company has been linked to animal testing. I would love a good, natural, animal friendly alternative that makes my skin look just as good. Any suggestions? I would love to know.

Finally after all of these products I use the Nivea daymoisturiser for normal combination skin. Which is just your run of the mill moisturiser, it does what it is supposed to, is non greasy and feels like it is doing the job of giving your skin the moisture it deserves. It also has a high spf factor of 30 which is incredibly important in protecting my skin from the hot Australian Sun.

And that is it 🙂 I hope that this has given you a good insight into my skin and helped any of you with skin problems out. I thouroughly recommend all of these products, and though they are a little pricey, I really feel like spending a little more on skin care can make ALOT of difference. Think about it this way, the better your skin looks, the less you have to spend on makeup.

Lot’s of love and talk soon,

Daniela xx

PRODUCT LINKS AND PRICES (Australia)- This is where I have purchased all of my products from,

Ren Radiance Resurfacting AHA Concentrate $76

http://www.meccacosmetica.com.au/shop/Ren/RadianceResurfacingAHAConcentrate/

Ren Clear Calm 3 Cleanser $40

http://www.meccacosmetica.com.au/shop/Ren/ClearCalm3ClarifyingClayCleanser/

Ren Clear Calm 3- Clarity Restoring Mask $66

http://www.meccacosmetica.com.au/shop/Ren/ClearCalm3ClarityRestoringMask/

Keihl’s Midnight Recovery Concentrate

http://www.meccacosmetica.com.au/shop/Kiehls/MidnightRecoveryConcentrate/

Malin + Goetz Acne Treatment- $39

http://www.meccacosmetica.com.au/shop/MalinGoetz/AcneTreatment/

Estee Lauder Idealist Evem Skin Tone Illuminator

http://www.esteelauder.com.au/product/2651/14025/Product-Catalog/Whats-New/Just-Arrived/Skincare/Idealist-Even-Skintone/Illuminator/index.tmpl

Nivea Daily Essentials Light Moisturising Day Cream

http://www.nivea.com.au/products/face-care/product-type/day-care

One thought on “My Skin and My Current Skin Care Neccessities

  1. Pingback: Good Goodies #1 March | (Not) Made Up

Leave a Reply

